Shift.

October 15, 2007

One minute, I’m in a room filled with students, and I’m teaching. I’m fielding difficult problem after difficult problem.

Next minute, I’m in a meeting room controlling today’s seminar.

Next I’m back in my office, trying to get on with my own work.

Later, I’m back at home relaxing with a beer and a beautiful woman. The beautiful woman is just a friend.

It’s interesting to weigh up the different interactions we each have with other people every day. Sometimes we’re in a position of power. Sometimes we’re absolutely not in a position of power. Sometimes we’re in total control of our time. Sometimes we’re unwinding with a close friend, one of those few with whom you feel equal.

And we shift between these modes of interaction subconsciously, without really paying attention to them.

Leave a Reply

