Having a life.

February 22, 2007

Having a life is difficult. Some things are easy. Things like going to work; choosing your mode of transport to work; what to eat for lunch; what to eat for dinner; when to do washing. These things demand your attention, and so are easier to do than ignore. After all, what else are you going to do? Starve to death? Wear last week’s underwear?

I work in an environment which offers total flexibility with my hours. I don’t mean flexitime, I mean I work as many hours as it takes to get the job done. Nobody but my own conscience watches the clock. I have no working hours stated in my contract. In calmer times, this is okay. It’s not too difficult to dictate an 8-hour day to myself and stick to it. But sometimes the work takes over.

You might think you want 100% flexible hours, but believe me, you probably don’t. I’m not naturally an early riser. That means I tend to arrive at work around 10am, still wishing for another half hour in bed. When I leave work is often an open question.

To build a life around this is often difficult. It’s easy to declare Saturday and Sundays as days off, but for the rest of the week it’s all too easy to take work home. This way, work easily spills over into the evenings.

It’s difficult to construct “hobbies” or “interests” around this sort of schedule. It’s difficult to meet new people when you’re working all the time.

4 Responses to “Having a life.”

  1. Seb said

    But surely there is nothing to stop you working a regular 9-5 all the time? Sounds like you need to organise your life a little better, because the solution to your problem is in your own post.

  2. The cause of the problem is also in my post: “I work as many hours as it takes to get the job done. … I have no working hours stated in my contract.”

    If I have a lot of work to do, then I work until it’s done. That’s the nature of the work.

    I wouldn’t want to be in another line of work. I merely notice that it sometimes takes over.

  3. […] 27th, 2007 It would appear I tempted fate in my previous post. I now don’t seem to have time to chill out in the immediate […]

  4. […] 1st, 2007 I’ve mentioned before that I sometimes find it difficult to have a life. I think about this topic frequently; I love my work, but I long for the days where I had that bit […]

Leave a Reply

